Zip Code:

Compare Insurance Quotes

    Florida Auto Insurance, Car Insurance Quotes

    The Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Florida are as follows:

    The liability Minimums are 10/20/10 (Bodily Injury and Property Damage)
    10/20/10 Explained:

    The first 10 represents $10,000, the maximum coverage for one person’s injuries, $20,000 for the total coverage for all injuries sustained in one incident and lastly $10,000 for the property damage maximum coverage amount.

    Liability Insurance is a minimum requirement and a low cost car insurance option as long as the vehicle is no longer financed. Although insuring your vehicle with the state minimum will indeed lower your premium, we feel these limits may be too low. A decent amount of vehicles on the road today are worth well over $10,000. If you are in an at-fault collision which totals out the other driver’s $15,000 vehicle and have only the state minimum, you may be sued for the uncovered damages. By raising your liability limits just up a notch will help you avoid this risk and should not cost all that much more.

    Florida Car Insurance Laws:
    Insurance proof is a requirement at registration and of course after an accident. The First Offense Penalty Can be revocation of the drivers License-Registration.

    Female Vs Male: Florida Crash Stats

    In search for lower insurance in FL

    Our goal is to help you find lower auto insurance rates within the State of Florida by providing the information and shopping resources needed to help you stay insured at a competitive rate. The first thing to do when purchasing something is to learn more about your product or service. What pushes insurance premiums higher? What can lower your Florida insurance premium? Auto insurance rates in Florida are first based on statistical data. Using the Law of Large Numbers, insurers can predict the risk of loss among a selected group of people. As individuals we have very little control over stats. However, there are some ways we can help control the cost of our premiums.

    Some of the steps Florida drivers can take for lower insurance premiums are:

    ~take defensive driving course (check with your agent)
    ~raise your deductible
    ~drop comprehensive and collision coverage on vehicles with less value
    ~purchasing a car research insurance rates
    ~compare rates between leading carriers
    ~ask your insurer about any latest and greatest discount programs available.
    Florida Auto Insurance in the Eye of the Insurer:

    When it comes time to look for a lower insurance rate in Florida there are some things you can do to help lower your premium. However historical data and population of the city you live cannot be changed. The higher population the more drivers, resulting in higher risk.

    Are you a high risk Florida Driver?

    The last car crash statistic records for Florida state there were 137,282 crashes that resulted in injury. Out of 10,000 random drivers, drivers between the age of 15 and 19 had the highest rate of auto accidents. Drivers between the age of 20 and 24 were said to have the highest rate of car crashes resulting in fatality. The size of where you live will also play a factor (more drivers). Gender will also play a factor. To provide some examples of data insurers may use, provided below are population data and Gender statistics for fatal crashes.

    Higher Population = Higher Risk:

    Jacksonville, FL.:

    Pop. 805,605 2006 Fatal Crash – Gender Stats
    Miami, FL.: Pop. 409,719
    Tampa, FL.: Pop. 336,823
    St. Petersburg, FL.: Pop.246,407
    Orlando, FL.: Pop. 227,907
    Hialeah, FL.: Pop. 212,217
    Fort Lauderdale, FL.: Pop. 183,606
    Tallahassee, FL.: Pop. 168,979
    Cape Coral, FL.: Pop. 156,981
    Port St. Lucie, FL.: Pop. 151,391
    Pembroke Pines.: Pop. 146,828
    Hollywood.: Pop. 142,473

    The data provided above will either work for you or against you when shopping for car insurance in Florida. We hope they work to your advantage. For those it doesn’t, we will continue researching more ways to lower your auto insurance in Florida. If you have any additional discount information for Florida insurance let us know. Thank You.

    Back to Top

    Florida Insurance Information Post

    How to handle an “uninsured and underinsured” mark with a citation:

    I would like to discuss a story about a guy named Sal. a guy who took a risk. Living in the state of Florida he found himself getting pulled over for speeding. At the time he got stopped, his insurance had not been renewed yet. With the insurance renewed he registration was also not valid. The officer wrote up a citation for the speeding as well as no proof of insurance and registration. Since being stopped Sal went ahead and renewed his insurance and squared away his registration. With court coming up soon what should he expect? This is mainly up to the judge but seeing Sal take the steps to correct his mistake he should expect decreased fines. If he’s lucky the Judge may eliminate all fines that have to do with insurance and registration, but the citation will be hard to avoid.

    If you represent an Independent Agency outside Florida we would like to know more about your Company. Contact us today: (admin |at|

    Comments are closed.