Connecticut Auto Insurance, Comparison Quotes
The Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Connecticut are as follows:
Liability Insurance is a minimum requirement and a low cost car insurance option as long as the vehicle is not financed.
The liability Minimums are 20/40/10 (Bodily Injury and Property Damage)
The first 20 represents $20,000, the maximum coverage for one person’s injuries, $40,000 for the total coverage for all injuries sustained in one incident and last but not least $10,000 for the property damage maximum coverage amount.
Connecticut Car Insurance Laws:
Insurance proof is a requirement at registration and of course after an accident. The First Offense Penalty is a $500 fine.
Under Connecticut State Law a minimum 5% discount will be given to any Driver of a vehicle who has attained the age of 60 years. Drivers must have successfully completed a DMV approved accident prevention course. The 5% is a minimum discount which will apply to the premium for a minimum of 24 months. Some insurance companies will discount your premium more than 5% for completing this course. Anyone interested in taking this course can contact the Western Connecticut Driving Institute in Brookfield, Connecticut at 203-775-5797.
Note if the requirements are met for the discount,
you cannot be denied the 5% Connecticut auto insurance discount.
For drivers under the age of 60, Insurance companies are not required to give discounts for taking the course. However, some insurance companies do offer discounts voluntarily. It’s always a good idea to check with your Agent about any discounts available to you.